2017 Competition Results

Thanks to everyone who competed in the 2017 National Veterans Law Moot Court Competition! Nineteen teams from 16 law schools took part in this year’s competition, including six first-time participants.

This year, the Baylor Law School team of Alex Oestreich and Leah Towe took top honors as Best Team, arguing against Monica Ferreira and Alexander Mazza, from Brooklyn Law School, in the final round. Michelle Gallo and Kevin Packer, of Widener University Delaware School of Law, won Best Petitioner’s Brief; Best Respondent's Brief went to Christopher Robertson and Greg Urbach of South Texas College of Law Houston. John Arnett of Stetson University College of Law won Best Oral Advocate after earning the highest scores in the two preliminary rounds of the competition.

The final round was judged by Judges Michael Allen and Joseph Toth and Senior Judge William Moorman of the U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims. The semifinal rounds were judged by Gregory Block, Clerk of the Court at the U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims; Mary Ann Flynn, Chief Counsel of the Veterans Court Litigation Group at VA's Office of General Counsel; and Robert Chisholm, a founding partner at the firm of Chisholm Chisholm & Kikpatrick.

Thanks to all the competitors, coaches, and volunteers from the U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims, the CAVC Bar Association, and GW Law who made this competition a tremendous success, and a special thanks to the Veterans Consortium Pro Bono Program for donating the trophies for this year’s competition.

The 16 schools competing in this year’s competition were: Baylor Law School; Brooklyn Law School; Elon University School of Law; Emory University School of Law; Florida Coastal School of Law; the George Washingon University Law School; J. Reuben Clark Law School, BYU; New York Law School; Penn State Law; South Texas College of Law Houston; Stetson University College of Law; Syracuse University College of Law; University of Denver Sturm College of Law; University of Florida Levin School of Law; Widener University School of Law; and the University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law.

Stay tuned in Spring 2018 for more information about next year’s competition!

Key Dates for the 2017 Competition

Important Information